Caramelized onion dip

Written on Dec. 28, 2008



Last time when I visit Extraordinary Desserts, a lovely cafe/dessert place in San Diego, I came upon a really delicious onion dip, made with caramelized onion and sour cream and served with kettle chips. It was absolutely to die for. For the record, Extraordinary Desserts currently holds “Ivy the foodie” award of “the best cake in the US”. Everything I have tried there, including 5 different cakes, the onion dip, two different bruschettas, is great. They even use Valrhona chocolate in their mocha!

I found a similar recipe from 101 Cookbook Link. Somehow I always thought that the dip is made of cream cheese, since the dip from Extraordinary Desserts is so rich. So I replaced the sour cream with cream cheese when I made it this time. Also I skipped the onion powder since I don’t have it at hand. Instead of kettle chip, which I found too oily, I served this dip with multi-grain cookies. It worked out quite well! But funnily when I went back to check the menu on ED’s website, it said the dip they serve is made of sour cream too! Hm… I wonder what happened with my palette at that time….

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 large yellow onions, finely chopped
  • 3/4 cup sour cream or cream cheese
  • 3/4 cup Greek yogurt (i.e. no sugar added)
  • 3 teaspoons dehydrated onion powder/granulates (salt-free, natural)
  • salt to taste

Method:

  • Over medium or low heat saute the chopped onions in the olive oil along with a couple pinches of salt. Stir occasionally and cook until the onions are golden brown, and caramelized – roughly 40 or 50 minutes. Set aside and let cool.
  • Whisk together the sour cream, yogurt, onion powder, and salt. Add a bit of onion powder at a time until it tastes really good. Set aside until the caramelized onions have cooled to room temperature. Stir in 2/3 of the caramelized onions, scoop into a serving bowl, and top with the remaining onions. This dip is best at room temperature.


Leave a Reply

